The Hong Kong International Film Festival presents five competition sections with the award winners decided by distinguished jury members consisting of renowned film industry professionals, film critics, directors and talent. The winners of the awards will be announced at the 34th HKIFF Awards Gala Ceremony was held at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre on Tuesday, 30 March 2010 at 7:00pm.

  1. Asian Digital Competition
  2. Humanitarian Awards for Documentaries
  3. FIPRESCI Prize
  4. SIGNIS Awards
  5. Short Film Competition
Asian Digital Competition

The Asian Digital Competition encourages young filmmakers in Asia to explore the potentials of the digital film - a technology that is particularly affordable and amenable to intimate, personal expressions. The 34th HKIFF will select eight outstanding digital features by Asian filmmakers with a jury of three renowned personalities who will select the winners of the Golden Digital Award and Silver Digital Award.


Asian Digital Competition Jury

HAYASHI Kanako is the Festival Director of Tokyo Filmex. Born in Tokyo in 1962, she was the general coordinator of Kawakita Memorial Film Institute from 1986 to 1997, and introduced Japanese films to many international film festivals. She lived in Hong Kong for 3 years from 1998 as Asian consultant for Venice and Berlin (Forum) Film Festivals. She previously served as a jury member in Istanbul, Hawaii, Taipei, Karlovy Vary and Berlin Film Festivals.

Brillante MENDOZA was born in San Fernando, The Philippines. He studied advertising at the University of Santo Tomas in Manila, then became a production designer for feature films, television, theatre and eventually in television advertising. He made his feature debut, The Masseur (05), which won the Golden Leopard in Video at the Locarno Film Festival. 2007's Slingshot won the Caligari Prize at the 2008 Berlin Film Festival. In 2009 he won Best Director at the Cannes Film Festival forKinatay. Selected filmography: Summer Heat (06), The Teacher (06, docu), Foster Child (07), Serbis (08), and Lola (09).

Yonfan directs, produces, writes screenplays and distributes his own films. Born in Hunan Province, China, Yonfan moved with his parents to Taiwan in 1952 then Hong Kong in 1965. He received his first international notice with Bishonen at the Berlin International Film Festival 1999. His film Peony Pavilion has been awarded in several festivals. Filmography: A Certain Romance (84), Lost Romance (86), Immortal Story (86), Double Fixation (87), Last Romance (88), Promising Miss Bowie (90), In Between (94, co-directed), Bugis Street (95), Bishonen (98), Peony Pavilion (01), Breaking the Willow (03), Colour Blossoms (04) and Prince of Tears (09).

Guest Moderator

John Gilbert DONALDSON, Jr. is Co-Managing Director of Merchant Ivory Productions France. He has served in various capacities in the film industry and was executive producer on Louis Malle's Vanya on 42nd Street, James Ivory's Jefferson in Paris, A Soldier's Daughter Never Cries, Ismail Merchant's Cotton Mary and Charles de Meaux's Schimkent Hotel. He serves on the Board of Trustees of the American University of Paris, the Board of Visitors of the Savannah College of Art and Design, and the Board of the Center for the Study of International Communications. He is Secretary, Treasurer, and founding trustee of the Merchant and Ivory Foundation.

Nominees: Eighteen, The High Life, I'm in Trouble!, Mother is a Whore, Oxhide II, Seven Days in Heaven, Sun Spots, Tangle


Golden Digital Award: Sun Spots Directed by Yang Heng
Silver Digital Award: The High Life Directed by Zhao Dayong